Somewhere between a wallflower and an attention whore.

20131123-183810.jpg

The older I get the more of a change I see in myself. I confuse myself on whether I long to stand out or just be left alone. But one thing I can say is that I am learning to appreciate everything around me.

As a kid you ignore your parents when they say things like “be grateful for what you have” but its true. There’s so much beauty around us, whether it be a small town in the middle of nowhere or a major city like Chicago. There’s beauty in so much and I just want to be able to see it with clear eyes.

Sometimes I as well as so many others my own age get wrapped up in the idea that we need to look, speak, act, and dress a certain way that little things that make us happy. It’s not always going to be about partying, a part-time job, and class. Life will get real and harder. Taking advantage of the experiences we have now is how I’m learning to live my life.

This is where I begin to question myself on whether I’m a wallflower or an attention [laughs]. It sounds funny, but it’s something I’m really starting to think about. I want to be able to just sit back and take everything in like I was saying before but I also want to be the best dressed person in the room captivating the attention of everyone.

This is where I am in life.

I don’t really know if this will ever change or if it’s something I want to change. Just enjoying it while I can.

 

Leave a comment